Victorians registers vital victory against Riders

Victorians registers vital victory against RidersIn the 20th match of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), one of the prominent title contenders of the season Comilla Victorians have gained an all-important win against Rangpur Riders at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

The 14 run victory took Comilla Victorians right into the second position in the point table with total 8 points.

The Victorians successfully defended the total from Rangpur Riders who played full 20 overs scoring 139 runs losing 7 wickets in reply to Comilla Victorians 153 runs after batting first.

Also Read - Live: Rangpur opt to bowl against Comilla

Imrul Kayes continued his good form of batting in this year’s BPL, unfortunately missed the half century mark by three runs, was uprooted by Thisara Perera at 47. His innings contains 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Marlon Samuels’s batting guided the Victorians towards building the winning target, his 41 came off 34 deliveries with 4 fours and a six.

Meanwhile the third loss playing four matches of BPL-5 dragged star studded Rangpur Riders into the bottom most position of the point table. They are now at seventh among seven contenders with just 2 points in hand.

Joining of Caribbean maestro Chris Gayle and Kiwi master blaster Brendon McCullum have brought no change of fate for Rangpur Riders. A handful of thirty runs were shared between two super stars of world cricket in the opening slot of the Riders’ innings.

Chris Gayle, after his optimistic announcement of procuring huge enjoyment to Bangladeshi crowd hitting number of sixes, failed to smash a single one, whatsoever, was trapped by Rashid Khan scoring 17 off 13 balls with 3 shots of four.

The flurry of wickets came down for Comilla Victorians bowlers as Rangpur Riders lost 3 consecutive wickets at the score of 31 runs.

One down batsman Kusal Perera and left out opener Brendon McCullum also followed Gayle in the same score of the team.

Rashid Khan grabbed his second wicket of the over that of Kusal Perera and young all-rounder Mehedi Hasan took over Brendon McCullum.

Ravi Bopara was the only one to try to restrict the falling of wickets in the Riders’ innings; he was there till the end with an unbeaten knock of run a ball 48 runs.

Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza also scored 17 runs before being run out by Mohammad Saifuddin.

Brief Score:

Comilla Victorians 153/6 (20 overs)

Imrul Kayes 47, Marlon Samuels 41, Tamim Iqbal 21

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 2/22, Thisara Perera 2/26, Rubel Hossain 1/45

Rangpur Riders 139/7 (20 overs)

Ravi Bopara 48, Mohammad Mithun 31, Chris Gayle 17

Rashid Khan 2/19, Mehedi Hasan 2/15, Al-Amin Hossain 1/33

Result: Comilla Victorians won by 14 runs.

Toss: Rangpur Riders. 


1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018