Vikings’ narrowly defeat Riders

Vikings' narrowly defeat Riders Chittagong Vikings’ escape to slender win of 11 runs against Rangpur Riders in the seventh match of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League at the Sylhet International Stadium on Wednesday.

The Vikings have successfully defended the competitive total of 166 runs which they put on the board after being sent into bat first.

Rangpur put a brave fight in the ending phase but failed short of 11 runs although they had two wickets left in hand.

Also Read - Photo Album: Sylhet Sixers vs Rajshahi Kings, Match-6

The match was turned down towards Chittagong Vikings’ way when Taskin Ahmed’s direct throw dislodged Ravi Bopara’s stumps before he entered into the crease. Bopara scored 38 off 32, the highest in the team total.

Taskin also delivered a meticulous show with the ball, claiming 3 of Riders’ batsmen in the innings.

He together with Luis Reece managed to restrict Rangpur Riders at a below par score at the end.

Mohammad Mithun and Shahriar Nafees scored 23 and 26 respectively.

In the first half of the day, Luke Ronchi shepherded Chittagong Vikings’ innings from the hunt of Comilla Victorians’ bowlers to build up a competitive total in the board.

Ronchi opened the innings with Soumya Sarkar, stood for 59 runs in the opening partnership where Soumya contributed run a ball 7 runs with a shot to the boundary.

Ronchi, on the other hand, carrying a massive strike rate of 222.86, hammered 7 sixes and equal number of fours to score 78 runs in 35 deliveries. He was the victim of Bopara in the match.

Chittagong Vikings’ skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and one down batsman Dilshan Munaweera slowed the process in the later overs of the innings restricting the Vikings’ into 166 runs losing 4 wickets in 20 overs.

Misbah made 31 runs in 32 balls and Munaweera scored 20 off 17.

Brief Score:
Chittagong Vikings 166/4 (20 overs)
Luke Ronchi 78, Misbah-ul-Haq 31, Dilshan Munaweera 20
Ravi Bopara 2/14, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 1/28, Thisara Perera 1/16

Rangpur Riders 155/8 (20 overs)
Ravi Bopara 38, Mohammad Mithun 23, Shahriar Nafees 28
Taskin Ahmed 3/31, Luis Reece 2/28, Sunzamul Islam 1/21

Result: Chittagong Vikings won by 11 runs. 
Toss: Rangpur Riders. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018