Bangladesh U19 WC squad announced, captain yet to be named

Bangladesh U19 WC squad announced, captain yet to be named

Bangladesh U19 squad for the upcoming ICC U19 World Cup in New Zealand has been announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Although it is yet to be known who is going to lead the youth tigers.

13 of the 15 members in the squad were part of Bangladesh’s recently U19 Asia Cup squad in Malaysia, where they reached the semi-finals. Tipu Sultan and Roni Hossen have earned call-ups for the big stage.

Also Read - Live: Sylhet ask Comilla to bat first

Four pacers have been included in the squad as New Zealand conditions will suit the fast bowlers. Injured seamer Yeasin Arafat might get back into the squad if he recovers.

Mahidul Islam Ankan and Shakil Hossaim have been picked as specialist wicket-keepers. Saif Hassan and Pinak Ghosh both played in 2016 edition, when Bangladesh U19 played in the semi-finals for the first time. Saif is likely to be named captain as he has led the side since Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

The tournament will begin on January 13. Bangladesh will take on Namibia, Canada and England in Group C. Their first match will be against Namibia on the opening day.

Bangladesh U19 squad: Saif Hassan, Pinak Ghosh, Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Towhid Hridoy, Aminul Islam, Mohammad Rakib, Mahidul Islam Ankan, Shakil Hossain, Robiul Hoque, Nayeem Hasan, Qazi Anik, Roni Hossen, Hasan Mahmud, Tipu Sultan

Reserve players: Mohammad Sozib Hossain, Rayan Rafsan Rahman, Shakhawat Hossain, Saidul Islam, Yeasin Arafat, Abdul Halim, Monirul Isam.


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

Youth Tigers secure big win in tournament opener

Bangladesh U-19 makes 3 in 3 after beating India U-19

Bangladesh U-19 thrashes Malaysia U-19 to top the table in Youth Asia Cup

Youth batting collapse leads another thrashing defeat

Wright to take the responsibility of Bangladesh U-19 team