Dynamites thrash Riders by a big margin

Dynamites thrash Riders by a big margin In the 41st match of the fifth edition of Bangladesh Premier League, defending champion Dhaka Dynamites have defeated Rangpur Riders by 43 runs. The result of the match, however, have not altered the qualifications for the next round as that had earlier been settled.

Despite collecting a low total, Dhaka Dynamites managed to win the match in a big margin. Dynamites’ skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and opted to field first in the initiation.

Rangpur Riders pace duo Rubel Hossain and Ebadot Hossain restricted the run flow of the opposition as well as plucking wickets regularly throughout the innings.

Also Read - Starc five-for gives Australia 2-0 lead

Rubel hit the first strike in Dhaka Dynamites’ innings sending back opener Sunil Narine in the second over.

Dhaka lost five wickets half way through the innings at the score of only 48 runs before captain Shakib Al Hasan rescued the team from possible disaster.

Shakib had to stop unbeaten three runs away from the half century. His 47 runs in 33 balls led Dhaka Dynamites cross the hundred run mark.

55 runs were added between Mehedi Maruf and Shakib Al Hasan in the sixth wicket partnership. Maruf got the second highest 33 runs playing 23 balls striking 3 fours and a six.

Rubel Hossain and Ebadot Hossain took 2 wickets each for the Riders.

Replying to the paltry total, Rangpur Riders’s batsmen were restricted before hundred run mark.

Shakib Al Hasan, after shining with the bat, proclaimed 2 wickets of Rangpur Riders. Batting their allotted quota of 20 overs, Rangpur Riders scored 94 runs losing 7 wickets.

Three of their batsmen Johnson Charles, Ravi Bopara and Nahidul Islam reached in the double figure mark in the Riders’ innings off which Bopara made highest 28 runs.

Besides Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider Rony also took 2 wickets for Dhaka Dynamites.

Brief Score:

Dhaka Dynamites 137/7 (20 overs)

Shakib Al Hasan 47*, Mehedi Maruf 33, Evin Lewis 14

Rubel Hossain 2/32, Ebadot Hossain 2/37, Nahidul Islam 1/12

Rangpur Riders 94/7 (20 overs)

Ravi Bopara 28, Johnson Charles 26, Nahidul Islam 13

Shakib Al Hasan 2/13, Abu Hider Rony 2/23, Mosaddek Hossain 1/13

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 43 runs.

Toss: Dhaka Dynamites.  1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018