Shakib seals Dynamites’ place in last four of BPL-5

Shakib seals Dynamites' place in last four of BPL-5 Dhaka Dynamites have booked Super Four of BPL 2017 demolishing Rajshahi Kings by a magnanimous defeat of 99 runs in the 36th match of the tournament. After building a giant total of 205 runs in the board, Dynamites’ bowlers restricted the Kings 106 runs.

Rajshahi Kings being in the number fifth position in the point table, could not even batted whole 20 overs of their innings. They lost their last batsman Mustafizur Rahman with 9 balls to be played yet.

Rajshahi Kings were practically thrown out of the competition when Dhaka Dynamites posted 205 runs losing just 5 wickets after winning the toss and decided to bat first.

Also Read - Live: Dynamites to bat first

Both openers of Dynamites Sunil Narine and Joe Denly reached in their respective half centuries for the defending champions.

Narine destructed the opposition bowlers striking 4 shots of fours and six sixes. He took 34 balls to score 69 runs.

On the other end, Joe Denly’s 54 ball 53 runs comprised of 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Kieron Pollard guided the Dhaka Dynamites’ innings crossing 200 mark. Batting at number four the West Indian hard hitter reached 33 runs playing 14 balls. He smashed 4 over boundaries.

On reply, Rajshahi Kings’ attempt to chase was slaughtered by spin magic of Dynamites’ icon Shakib Al Hasan.

Shakib signatured an astounding figure of 4 for 8 runs in his 4 overs. The world number one all-rounder initiated the breakthrough scattered the wicket of opener Lendl Simmons in the second over.

Young all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain and Saddam Hossain shared 4 wickets between them. Mosaddek claimed 2 wickets for 9 runs while Saddam bowled a single over for claiming his 2 wickets giving away 3 runs.

Just four of Rajshahi Kings’ batsmen reached the double digit mark in which Samit Patel scored highest 28 runs (17 balls).

Brief Score:
Dhaka Dynamites 205/5 (20 overs)
Sunil Narine 69, Joe Denly 53, Kieron Pollard 33
Qazi Onik 2/52, Mohammad Sami 1/29, Samit Patel 1/24

Rajshahi Kings 106/10 (18.3 overs)
Samit Patel 28, Mominul Haque 19, Mehidy Hasan 16
Shakib Al Hasan 4/8, Mosaddek Hossain 2/9, Saddam Hossain 2/3

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 99 runs.
Toss: Dhaka Dynamites. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018