DPL starts from February 5

CCDM (Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis) has confirmed that Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2018 will begin on February 8. The players-by-choice will take place on 20th January.[নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ডিপিএলে সর্বোচ্চ পারিশ্রমিক ৪০ লাখ টাকা] 

DPL starts from February 5

New CCDM chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed has informed the reporters about this season’s DPL at the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) office on Wednesday. Earlier, he had expressed his willingness of bringing people back to Dhaka League.

Also Read - Every match is turning point: Nasir

Players-by-choice is still the go to option for clubs in DPL. Inam said on this process, “As there will be shuffles in players-by-choice, so we are setting up some rules. Firstly, 12 players from ‘A’ and ‘A+’ categories will cleared. They will be out of the choices. Moreover, teams can still retain five players each from the previous season. And those 12 players will be kept in a special category. They can pick teams of their own.”

The highest amount for a player is 40 lakh Bangladeshi takas (USD 48400) and the lowest is 3 lakh takas (USD 3630).

This season’s 50-over tournament Dhaka Premier League was previously supposed to start in January, but it has been delayed to February. Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL), country’s one of the first-class leagues, will start from January 9.

Gazi Group Cricketers were the winners of last edition. National team members played only a few matches in 2017 due to Ireland tri-series and Champions Trophy. National players’ participation is unlikely this season too as the Tigers will be facing Sri Lanka for two Tests and two T20Is in January. There is still a gap after that but the tri-nation T20 tournament Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka will begin from March 8.


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

Best league in recent memory: Mash

‘I would be so happy if Bangladesh could win the tri-nation tournament’

Soumya shines with a ton after three years

Mashrafe books record in DPL

Dhaka Premier League back in home of cricket