Breaking News

Williamson ton breaks Pakistan streak

New Zealand have sealed a 66-run (D/L method) victory over Pakistan in the first ODI at Basin Reserve, Wellington. The hosts are leading the five-match series 1-0.

Williamson ton breaks Pakistan streak

Pakistan chose to field after winning the toss. New Zealand openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro put on 83 in 12.3 overs. Munro raced to a 33-ball half-century. He made 58 runs off 35 balls hitting 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Also Read - Match timings changed of tri-nation series

Guptill made 72-ball 48 with a 73-run partnership with skipper Kane Williamson. Williamson got his half-century in 59 balls while Ross Taylor and Tom Latham failed to make any impact.

Williamson and Henry Nicholls made 90-run partnership for the fifth wicket. Williamson got his 10th ODI hundred in 106 balls. He played a knock of 115 runs from 117 deliveries including 8 fours and a maximum. Nicholls made 43-ball 50.

The Blackcaps posted 315/7 in 50 overs. Hasan Ali took three wickets for 61 runs.

Tim Southee and Trent Boult took three quick Pakistani wickets for 13 runs in the run-chase. But Fakhar Zaman remained at the crease. The visitors were 54/5 at one stage. Fakhar reached his fifty in 63 balls.

Shadab Khan played a supportive role for Fakhar. Shadab scored 32-ball 28. Fakhar was marching towards his second ODI century, but rain denied him and Pakistan. The play stopped at 166/6 in 30.1 overs with Fakhar staying unbeaten for 86-ball 82 runs including 5 fours and 4 sixes.

Southee took three wickets while Boult got two. Todd Astle picked up one wicket.

New Zealand were given a victory of 61 runs in D/L method. This broke Pakistan’s winning streak of 9 ODIs.


Brief scores:

New Zealand 315/7 in 50 overs (Williamson 115, Munro 58; Hasan 3/61, Fakhar 1/19)

Pakistan 166/6 in 30.1 overs (Fakhar 82*, Shadab 28; Southee 3/22, Boult 2/35)

New Zealand won by 61 runs (D/L method)

Man of the Match: Kane Williamson (115)


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

Three famous cricketers who are yet to join twitter

Prizes and Prize money compilations of IPL 2018

SRH versus KKR: Who to go through to the final of IPL-11

Williamson’s captain knock seal Sunrisers Hyderabad’s win

Not every 4 hits the boundary