2023 World Cup to be also ten team tournament

World’s cricket governing body International Cricket Council has released some new arrangement for the forthcoming World Cup.

The 2023 Men’s World Cup will be undergone with ten teams like what is happening now but the selection process will be anew one.

A total of thirty two teams will go through extensive qualification rounds starting from July 2019 and will lasted up to May 2022.

Also Read - AB sees India's 'very good chance' in Australia

372 matches will be on card in the whole qualification process. Out of thirty two teams, eight teams will go to CWC Super League and five bottom teams will play CWC qualifier.

On Saturday, ICC CEO Dave Richardson said, “To date the World Cricket League has played an important role in improving standards in Associate Member cricket, but feedback from our consultation with Members clearly articulated the need for more frequent playing opportunities and greater certainty over when they would be playing.”

Earlier ICC associate member countries denounced for not having extended opportunities to participate in the World Cup as the highest authority of cricket restricted the tournament to ten teams all the while.

ICC CEO said, “The new structure significantly increases the number of matches and competitive playing opportunities for our Members as well as shortening the whole qualification process to two and a half years, when previously it was six.

There is a clear pathway now for teams looking to qualify for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.”

International Cricket Council is hoping that the newly structures format will provide more limited over games for seven Associate Members.

Related Articles

Security will be absolute priority in WC 2019: ICC CEO

MCC aims to polish Test cricket with new thoughts

ICC inks $3 million sponsorship deal with GoDaddy Inc. for ICC WC 2019

ICC authorizes Indian cricketers’ wearing army caps

ICC releases a statement on Professional Leagues