3 teams that can give tough battle to Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021

Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the history of the Indian Premier League. In fact, they are the most decorated side as they won as many as 5 titles to their name so far.

3 teams that can give tough battle to Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021

For the first five seasons of the IPL, they did not win even a single title and back then, Chennai Super Kings were the phenomenal force in the league as they had won back-to-back titles. However, in the sixth edition of the IPL, they announced their arrival in style by beating CSK in the IPL 2013 final.

Also Read - Bangladesh Emerging Team maintain 100 percent winning record

Mumbai Indians once again defeated CSK in IPL 2015 to lift their second title. When CSK were handed a 2-year-ban from the league due to spot-fixing allegations, Rising Pune Supergiant made their way in the league.

They reached the final in the 2017 season only to lose to Mumbai Indians by 1 run as Rohit Sharma won his third title as a captain. When CSK returned to the league after the ban, they won their third title in the 2018 season.

In the 2019 season, CSK locked horns with Mumbai Indians in the final but lost the game by 1 run. Rohit Sharma & Co lifted the fourth title. However, in the 2020 season, Mumbai Indians were never considered as the favourites because they have had a history of winning the title in odd seasons.

But they defied all the odds and won back-to-back titles for the first time in history. Rohit Sharma became the most successful captain in the Indian Premier League as he won five titles to his name and 6 titles as a player.

No team in the IPL have won three titles in a row but Mumbai Indians have a great opportunity to do it considering that they have a well-balanced squad with all the bases covered.

However, it is certain that they might face tough competition in the upcoming season of the IPL. In this article, we will take a look at the three teams that can give a tough fight to Mumbai Indians.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore

3 teams that can give tough battle to Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore were the unluckiest team in the IPL. They made it to the final on three occasions but lost all the encounters. Initially, they lost to Deccan Chargers (now-defunct franchise) in IPL 2008 season.

Then they lost to Chennai Super Kings in the 2011 season and later on, they lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2016 season. Despite a string of failures and disappointments, the passionate fan base still keeps cheering up for them even in tough times.

Virat Kohli’s army have all the tools and weapons to bid for the title this time around and they are one of the powerful teams who can give a tough fight to Mumbai Indians in the upcoming season.

Talking about the rivalry between the two franchises, both teams locked horns with each other in 29 matches where Mumbai Indians have dominated the Challengers by winning 19 games. On the other hand, RCB won 10 games.

Players retained: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Philippe, Shahbaz Ahmed and Pavan Deshpande.

Players released:

Aaron Finch, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Shivam Dube, Dale Steyn, Parthiv Patel and Umesh Yadav.

List of players bought:

Glenn Maxwell, Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Kyle Jamieson, Daniel Christian, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat.

Royal Challengers Bangalore complete squad IPL 2021:

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Kane Richardson, Washington Sundar, Pavan Deshpande, Joshua Philippe, Shahbaz Ahamad, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Kyle Jamieson, Glenn Maxwell, Rajat Patidar, Sachin Baby, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Dan Christian, KS Bharat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Daniel Sams, Harshal Patel.

Related Articles

I want 11 Jaddus on the field: Deepak Chahar

Shastri lauds Chahar after his impressive spell against PBKS

Dhoni discloses why he ignored Chahar’s DRS request against Shahrukh Khan

Not happy with the Chennai wicket since 2011: MS Dhoni

Mayank’s dismissal was dream ball for any bowler: Chahar