Aakash Chopra insists that Sourav Ganguly’s Team India Will Beat Virat Kohli’s Side

Very few cricketers are as active as former Indian opener Akash Chopra on social media. Recently, he made a comparison between Indian teams’ led by former captain and current President of the BCCI Sourav Ganguly. He also insisted that Ganguly’s team would have beaten Kohli’s side with ease.

Aakash Chopra insists that Sourav Ganguly's Team India Will Beat Virat Kohli's Side

Team India achieved a lot of success in overseas, Under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly. Among them the most famous were, drawn rubbers in England [1-1 in 2002] and Australia [1-1 in 2003-04] and a historic series win in Pakistan [2-1] in 2004.

Also Read - Legendary West Indies batsman dies

“We went to Australia and drew the series there. We went to Pakistan and defeated them. In India, we drew one series and lost one series to Australia. And Sourav Ganguly’s team even drew the series in England. It was a fairly good team, a team which taught us how to win abroad,” Aakash Chopra.

Team India is the only Asian side to beat Australia in a Test series Down Under [2-1 in 2018-19]. The side was led by present Skipper Virat Kohli. But on the other side, India suffered series defeats in South Africa [1-2 in 2018], England [1-4 in 2018] and in New Zealand [0-2] earlier this year under leadership of Virat Kohli.

Virat Kohli’s team has defeated Australia in their home conditions, the only team to have done so in Indian cricket history. But they lost in South Africa and lost quite badly in England. In South Africa, they came close but lost the series 2-1,” he added.

Akash Chopra picked the playing XIs led by Sourav Ganguly and Virat Kohli.

Sourav Ganguly’s XI:

Virender Sehwag, Aakash Chopra, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Parthiv Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar

Virat Kohli’s XI:

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami/Jasprit Bumrah

Related Articles

Suryakumar Yadav will be part of Indian team before the end of 2020

Jimmy Neesham trolls Aakash Chopra after former India cricketer questions his role in KXIP

Sachin reveals why India opposed DRS technology

Twitter reacts to Padikkal’s debut knock

IPL 2020: Aakash Chopra picks best playing XI for KKR