Afghanistan announce T20I, Test squads

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced squads for three T20Is against Bangladesh and their historic debut Test against India next month. Asghar Stanikzai will lead the Afghans in their first Test. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বাংলাদেশের বিপক্ষে আফগানিস্তানের দল ঘোষণা]

Afghanistan announce T20I, Test squads
Afghanistan will face India in historic Test. Photo: ICC


16 players have been named for three T20Is against Bangladesh which will be held at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun. This is the first bilateral T20I series between these two countries.

Also Read - IPL 2018: 3 captaincy replacement options available for RCB

The T20I squad includes only five players from Test squad. Darwish Rasooli has earned a maiden call-up in the senior team following his good form in this year’s U19 World Cup. Najib Tarakai has been recalled after 15 months for his solid domestic performance.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan have picked four spinners for one-off Test against India at M Chinnaswamy, Bengaluru. Rashid Khan and Zahir Khan are the wrist-spinners with the latter being a left-armer, 17-year-old Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Amir Hamza are the finger-spinners.

The Test squad consists 16 members where Zahir and fast bowler Wafadar are yet to make debut in international cricket. Dawlat Zadran will be missing due to injury.

The three T20Is between Afghanistan and Bangladesh will be on June 3, 5 and 7. Afghanistan’s first Test against India will be starting from June 14th.

T20I squad vs Bangladesh: Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Najeeb Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shenwari, Shafiqullah, Darwish Rasooli, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shapoor Zadran, Aftab Alam

Test squad vs India: Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Nasir Jamal, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar, Zahir Khan

Related Articles

Sabbir breaches discipline once again

VIDEO: Afghanistan players’ ‘Naagin’ dance after thrilling series win against Bangladesh

Shakib achieves elite double

Live: Afghanistan bat first in last T20I

Somehow now I don’t find them to be representing Bangladesh: BCB President