Afghanistan script first Test win

Afghanistan have secured their first victory in Test cricket. At the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Dehradun, Afghanistan defeated Ireland by 7 wickets.

Rashid Khan claims fifer

Rashid Khan epitomized yet another world record steering his team to historic victory in the country’s second match of the elite section of the game.

Also Read - Security will be absolute priority in WC 2019: ICC CEO


Afghanistan spent less than fifty overs in the crease in the fourth morning in Dehradun to lift the score needed for the great beginning in Test cricket. All they lost were 3 wickets in the second innings ended scoring 149 runs in 47.5 overs.

The moment of victory came when Hashmatullah Shahidi pulled his first ball to deep mid wicket boundary for a four.

Resuming at overnight score of 29 for the loss of one wicket, Ihasanullah Janat settled the ship with unbeaten 65 runs in accompaniment of Rahmat Shah who was stumped by Poynter off Cameron in closing proximity of the victory target.

Rashid Khan acclaims stardom, Afghanistan scripts first Test win -02

Janat’s knock was laced with eight boundaries and two sixes. Shah made 76 off 122 deliveries with the help of 13 boundaries as the duo dogged 139 runs for the second wicket.

The monumental win was depicted by wonder boy Rashid Khan who hauled five wickets downing Ireland in the second innings in 288 runs, leaving a paltry total of 146 runs for Afghanistan to script the win.

Rashid Khan ripped through the heart of Irish batting with ultimate possession of skills and dominance, conceding just 87 runs bowling a massive quota of 34 overs.

Brief Score

Ireland 1st innings 172 all out (60 overs)
Tim Murtagh 54, George Dockrell 39, Paul Stirling 26
Yamin Ahmadzai 3/41, Mohammad Nabi 3/36, Rashid Khan 2/20

Afghanistan 1st innings 314 all out (106.3 overs)
Rahmat Shah 98, Asghar Afghan 67, Hashmatullah Shahidi 61
Stuart Thompson 3/28, George Dockrell 2/63, Andy McBrine 2/77

Ireland 2nd innings 288 all out (93 overs)
Andrew Balbirnie 82, Kevin O’Brien 56, James McCollum 39
Rashid Khan 5/82, Yamin Ahmadzai 3/52, Waqar Salamkheil 2/66

Afghanistan 2nd innings 149/3 (47.5 overs)
Rahmat Shah 76, Ihasanullah Janat 65*
Andy McBrine 1/35, James Cameron-Dow 1/24

Watch Afghanistan’s firt test winning moments here-

Result: Afghanistan won by 7 wickets.
Toss: Ireland.
Man of the Match: Rahmat Shah

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Afghanistan set to play first ever Day-Night Test

Australia announces summer schedule despite the COVID-19

Watch: Rashid Khan plays unique ‘helicopter shot’

Gatkate called up as Ireland name squad for Afghanistan T20Is

Shapoor Zadran back in Afghan squad for Ireland T20Is