Afghanistan series fixtures confirmed

Fixtures have been confirmed for the Afghanistan-Bangladesh three-match T20I series that will be held at India’s newly-built stadium, Dehradun. The matches will be played in the first part of June, according to somoynewstv. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ আফগানিস্তান সিরিজের সূচি, ভেন্যু নির্ধারণ] 

Afghanistan series fixtures confirmed

The series was initially supposed to be a bilateral ODI series but later on the boards (Afghanistan Cricket Board and Bangladesh Cricket Board) decided to convert into T20Is.

Also Read - Umesh Yadav's comic ball

Dehradun International Cricket Stadium’s constructions were finished last year. It’s a multi-purpose ground. It is situated in Dehradun of Uttar Pradesh, northern part of India.

Bangladesh team will leave for India on 31st May. The three T20Is will be played with one-day gaps. The first match will be on 5th June. The second T20I on 7th June and the final clash on 9th June. Afghanistan will then play their first Test in their history against India later that month.

Bangladesh have not yet announced the preliminary squad. The squad is likely to have 31 members for this series and Windies tour. T20I side will be led by Shakib Al Hasan, who took over the captaincy last year.

The Tigers have faced the Afghans only once in T20Is. That was in the opening World T20 2014 game in Dhaka where the hosts clinched nine-wicket victory after Afghanistan were bowled out for 72 runs.

In five ODI face-offs, Afghanistan handed Bangladesh two losses – one in Fatullah, 2014 and in Mirpur, 2016.

Afghanistan are currently ranked no.8 in ICC T20I rankings with 87 points. Bangladesh are at no.10 with 75 points.


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

TSM wins Afghan broadcasting bid

Shahzad pressurized by ACB to return to Afghanistan

ACB invites Bangladesh in India

India helped Afghanistan more than Pakistan: ACB CEO

Kaif set to become coach of Afghanistan