Aggressive Tamim but Bangladesh lose two at stroke of lunch

Tamim Iqbal has provided another commanding start for Bangladesh, but Sri Lanka have bounced back just before the lunch of day three of the second Test at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Tamim's quick fifty leads Bangladesh towards draw

Sri Lanka called their innings on 493/7 in 159.2 overs after which Bangladesh opener Tamim teed off to a 57-ball fifty, his 31st in Tests and fourth consecutive

Also Read - With the bat we never got the momentum: Kohli after PBKS loss

Bangladesh go into lunch at 99/2 in 27 overs after spinners Praveen Jayawickrama, the debutant, and Ramesh Mendis provided much needed breakthroughs.

Tamim dominated for the most part of 98-run opening stand with Saif Hassan, who was caught at slip off Jayawickrama making 25 off 62. Shanto has not done much after his first innings century in the first Test. He departed for four-ball duck on the last ball of the first session.

Tamim remains on 96-ball 70* runs with 11 boundaries. He has a chance of making his 10th Test ton in the next session.

Sri Lanka declared batting only 21 legal balls to add to their overnight score 469/9. Taskin Ahmed got Ramesh Mendis caught on 33 which made the host captain Dimuth Karunaratne call his batters off.

Niroshan Dickwella, who now has 18 Test fifties, could not get the chance to make a maiden hundred. He remained on 77* runs from 72 balls, striking 8 fours and a six.

Taskin Ahmed was the pick of Bangladeshi bowlers as he captured a career-best 4 for 127 in 34.2 overs.

Brief scores:

Sri Lanka 493/7d in 159.2 overs (Thirimanne 140, Karunaratne 118, Oshada 81, Dickwella 77*; Taskin 4/127)

Bangladesh 99/2 in 27 overs (Tamim 70*, Saif 25; Jayawickrama 1/20, Mendis 1/39)

Bangladesh trail by 394 runs

Lunch- Day 3

Related Articles

Jubair, Babul added to Bangladesh’s coaching panel

Australia hopeful of vaccination before WI, Bangladesh tours

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka ODIs to start at 1pm

Injured Rubel, Hasan to miss Sri Lanka series

ICC mulls 20-team Men’s T20 World Cup