Ajit Agarkar in contention for India’s selection panel: Report

The BCCI has always ensured to increase the standard and quality of Indian cricket. The richest cricket body has been a bit busy of late. Not a long ago, they announced Team India squads for all three formats for Australia tour. India’s governing body is also in advanced talks to add ninth team into the IPL as per the reports.

Ajit Agarkar in contention for India's selection panel: Report
Ajit Agarkar retired from all forms of cricket in the year 2013.

Meanwhile, the board is recruiting new faces to lead the national selection panel because the current ones are resigning from their respective posts. After 5 days of providing notice of vacancy for the selectors’ posts in the senior men’s committee under the tutelage of Sunil Joshi, Ajit Agarkar, Chetan Sharma, Maninder Singh and Shiv Sunder Das have reportedly submitted their applications for the vacant posts.

Ajit Agarkar has a plethora of experience playing the sport. He has played 231 international games and took 288 wickets in ODIs and 58 wickets in the longest form of the game.

Also Read - Manoj Tiwary picks the best XI of IPL 2020

The former experienced cricketers who sent their applications are waiting for the results. The shortlisted ones will replace Devang Gandhi (East Zone), Saran deep Singh (North Zone) and Jatin Paranjape (West Zone) in the senior men’s committee.

“Yes, I have applied for the selector’s post. I have no issues being an ordinary member of the panel. My main aim is to serve Indian cricket. I have played alongside legends like Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Dilip Vegsarkar, learnt a lot from them,” Chetan Sharma who had confirmed his application from North Zone was quoted as saying by India Today.

Meanwhile, Maninder who has applied from North zone is pretty confident that he will give everything when he is given a chance. “Yes, I had applied last time (in January) and I am applying this time. If given a chance, I will certainly like to give my best shot,” he added. The other cricketer who confirmed his nomination is former India opener Shiv Sunder Das. He filed his nomination from the East Zone.

Related Articles

Pathan picks ‘Farewell XI’ for recently retired India cricketers

Aakash Chopra insists that Sourav Ganguly’s Team India Will Beat Virat Kohli’s Side

Agarkar wants Mashrafe to be dropped

Selectors made the right decision to drop MS Dhoni: Ajit Agarkar

Bangladesh are two steps away from being Champion: Agarkar