All records at a glance in New Zealand vs India T20I series

If you want to define the word ‘unlucky’, then maybe no example can be more suitable than ‘New Zealand’ national cricket team. They did not win against India even after scoring 200 runs in the recently concluded five match T20I series against India. Neither won two Super Over matches.

All records at a glance in New Zealand vs India T20I series

In the last match of the five-match series also lost the match from the winning position. And they got whitewashed by India at home. However, almost every match in the series had been much exciting. There had been several records also.

Also Read - I was the first to congratulate Tamim - Rakibul Hasan

India whitewashed opponents for the third time in the away T20I Series. They first whitewashed Australia by 3-0 in 2015-16 session. Then, last year, they clean swept West Indies. This time, Virat-led side swept away the Kiwis by 5-0.

It was Virat Kohli’s record tenth series win as captain among fifteen T20I series. Before that, South Africa’s Faf du Plessis won 9 series and England’s Eoin Morgan won 7 series as captain. While West Indies’ Darren Sammy won six and India’s MS Dhoni win five series among fifteen T20I series.

India’s pace all-rounder Shivam Dube conceded 34 runs in the tenth over of the innings against New Zealand in the last T20I. It had been the second most expensive figure in an over in T20 international cricket. In ICC T20 World Cup 2007, Stuart Broad was hit for six sixes in an over by Yuvraj Singh.

Till this India series, New Zealand had been sharing the most loses at home in T20Is with Bangladesh. This time, they surpassed Bangladesh and set a new record for losing more matches at home. New Zealand lost 23 matches in 59 matches at home. Sri Lanka lost 23 matches in 40 matches at home. And Bangladesh and South Africa lost 22 matches at home.

Related Articles

Shakib opens up on New Zealand tour

Bangladesh move to No.2 in World Cup Super League

Photo Album: Bangladesh vs West Indies 3rd ODI, Chattogram

Tamim disappointed for missing century

Tigers win third match by 120 runs, complete Banglawash