All-round Fabian comes to West Indies’s rescue

West Indies have beat Sri Lanka by three wickets in the series deciding third T20I in Antigua, thanks to an all-round performance from Fabian Allen.

All-round Fabian comes to West Indies's rescue

After finishing with highly economical figures of one for 13 in his four overs with the ball, Allen smashed three sixes and scored 21 runs off just 6 balls to take his side home with a full over to spare.

Also Read - Pietersen and Co. hand Bangladesh big defeat

Batting first after winning the toss, Sri Lanka at one point were reeling at 46 for four, but Dinesh Chandimal and Ashen Bandara’s unbeaten partnership worth 85 runs for the fifth wicket meant they reached 131 runs in their stipulated 20 overs.

While Chandimal scored 54 not out off 46 balls with 3 sixes, Bandara was the quicker man, making 44 off 35 with the help of 3 sixes and a couple of fours.

Apart from Allen, Kevin Sinclair, Jason Holder and Obed McCoy, all took one wicket apiece.

In reply, Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis brought West Indies a 37-run opening stand. But once Lewis (21 off 18, 3 fours, 1 six) and Simmons (26 off 18, 3 fours, 1 six), the home side kept losing wickets in regular intervals, except a 23-run knock (off 18 balls, 2 sixes) from Nicholas Pooran.

Once Dwayne Bravo was gone with the team score 105 for seven after 16.5 overs, it seemed like the Lankans were on their way to get away with the match.

But then came Allen, and made sure West Indies safely as well as comfortably reach home, and win the T20I series 2-1.

For Sri Lanka, Lakshan Sandakan took three wickets giving away 29 runs while Dushmantha Chameera and Wanindy Hasaranga got two wickets each.

West Indies 134 for 7 in 20 overs (Simmons 26, Pooran 23, Sandakan 3-29) beat Sri Lanka 131 for 4 in 19 overs (Chandimal 54*, Bandara 44*, Allen 1-13) by three wickets. 

Related Articles

Fabian Allen to miss CPL after missing flight to Trinidad and Tobago

Dre-Russ explodes again as West Indies whitewash Sri Lanka

West Indies announce squads for India series

Players who can replace Shakib Al Hasan at SRH in IPL 2020

Pooran, Allen and Thomas get Cricket West Indies’ central contracts