Score

Amy Jones expresses regret for claiming a dropped catch


England wicket-keeper batswoman Amy Jones came under fire recently on social media for claiming a dropped catch of Smriti Mandhana. The incident took place during the first match of the tri-nation series between India and England.

Amy Jones expresses regret for claiming a dropped catch

On the first ball of the second over when Smriti Mandhawa nicked a delivery off England seamer Katherine Brunt to wicket-keeper Amy Jones.

Also Read - All records at a glance in New Zealand vs India T20I series



Amy Jones had dived to her left and caught the ball. She almost appeared to have sent Smriti back to the pavilion. However, it wasn’t the case as the umpire’s decision to check for the catch in reply showed the whole incident in detail.

Jones might have caught the ball at first but she dropped the ball as soon as she lost her balance while taking the catch. This incident had forced the third umpire to reverse his decision.

Soon after seeing the entire scene on the big screen, fans were not happy with the English wicket-keeper claiming the catch. The angry fans then called her a cheater.

However, she had apologised on Twitter. “The right decision was made, I thought it was clear to everyone that the ball came out at the end of my role and I wasn’t trying to hide that. In the moment it felt like I had control of the ball for long enough. From replays it’s clear that I didn’t, I’m sorry for my mistake,” wrote Amy on Twitter.


Related Articles

Video: Third umpire overturns Smriti’s dismissal