Anderson becomes the highest wicket taking fast bowler in Test history

With 564 wickets, James Anderson became the highest wicket taking seamer in the history of Test cricket.

Anderson becomes the highest wicket taking fast bowler in Test history

In the fifth and final day at the Oval, English pacer James Anderson has surpassed former Australian great Glenn McGrath to portray his name as the highest wicket taking fast bowler in Test history.

He started the day with 563 wickets beside his name; the dismissal of Mohammad Shami in the final ball of the series took him to move past beyond McGrath.

Also Read - Anderson tops the empire, England seal series with massive win

In the all-time highest wicket taking list, James Anderson is placed at four as the show is dominated by spinners topped by Sri Lankan spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan (800 wickets) followed by Australia’s Shane Warne (708 wickets) and India’s Anil Kumble (609 wickets).

Anderson’s 564 wickets have come in 267 innings of 143 Tests enveloping 26 fifers and three 10-wicket hauls.

His best innings figure is 7/42 against West Indies last season and Anderson’s best match figure is 11/71 against Pakistan eight season back.

In the fourth day, Anderson equaled McGrath taking wickets of Shikhar Dhawan and Cheteshwar Pujara in a single over.

Top 10 Wicket Takers In Test Cricket 

Muttiah Muralitharan        – 800 wickets
Shane Warne                   – 708 wickets
Anil Kumble                      – 619 wickets
Jimmy Anderson              – 564 wickets *
Glenn McGrath                – 563 wickets
Courtney Walsh               – 519 wickets
Kapil Dev                         – 434 wickets
Stuart Broad                    –  433 wickets *
Richard Hadlee               – 431 wickets
Rangana Herath             – 430 wickets

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Windies won’t last 5 days against England: Lara

I wouldn’t have picked Stokes as captain : Pietersen

England announces Squad for first test, Moeen and Bairstow miss out

Third ENG-WI Test to be celebrated as Ruth Strauss Foundation Test

10 Pakistani players dropped from England Tour