Andre Russell ruled out of T20Is, Holder regains captaincy

Andre Russell has been ruled out of the T20I series against England following fitness doubt.

Holder holds Windies to defeat India

The medical team assessment revealed Russell’s lack of match fitness ahead of the shortest version series against the tourists.

Also Read - South Africa's Tahir announces ODI retirement

Cricket West Indies, in a statement, said,

“A CWI medical panel outlined that Andre Russell has been withdrawn from the squad, due to an adverse reaction he had to a medical procedure done in Dubai before he flew to the Caribbean.”

The similar squad playing in the limited over series has been retained for the T20Is except Russell.

The other significant remark is Jason Holder became the captain for the shortest format ahead of Carlos Brathwaite.

CWI chairman of selection committee Courtney Browne said, “After discussion with the coach surrounding preparation for the World Cup, it was proposed that we retain the ODI squad to play the T20 matches against England.”

“After deliberations with captain, coach and the panel, we all are of the opinion that it would aid in the team’s World Cup preparations,” he added.

The three match T20I series will begin on March 5 in St. Lucia.

Before that, the five match limited over series between these two were leveled 2-2 after the third ODI in Grenada was washed off due to incessant rain.

Windies won the three match Test series 2-1 in the beginning of the tour.

West Indies squad for three T20Is:

Chris Gayle, John Campbell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder(c), Ashley Nurse, Oshana Thomas, Devendra Bishoo, Sheldon Cottrell

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Rashid Khan reveals three toughest batsman he has ever faced

Seeing Kohli, something triggered in my head: Andre Russell

Mashrafe reveals how he succeeds against Andre Russell

Andre Russell wants to play for KKR until retirement

Top 10 best finishers in modern cricket