New Zealand Banglawashed by tigers again

527635aa1d725-Shamsur-batting-2Tigers crashed New Zealand to raise a victory of 4 wickets in the 3rd ODI in Fotullah, Narayangonj today to depict another ‘Banglawash’ in the home ground; Bangladesh defeated the Kiwis by 4 – 0 in the home series in 2010.

The roaring Fotullah stadium broke into hit waves of a stunning victory as Sohag Gazi lifted the second delivery of the ultimate over for a four.

Chasing a huge victory target of 308, tiger openers Shamsur Rahman and Ziaur Rahman made a flying start. The occasional opener Ziaur Rahman is replaced in place of injured Tamim Iqbal and scored 22 in 20 balls with extravagant shots of fours and sixes (2×4, 2×6).

Also Read - We can defeat any team in anywhere: Mashrafe

Shamsur Rahman playing only his second One day international destroyed Kiwi bowling line up on the way to his 96 (107 balls). Shamsur hit 4 sixes and 7 fours bisecting the fielders of all sides. The opening pair broke at 60 when Zia got out by McClenaghan. The second wicket partnership is of 65 runs between Shamsur and Mominul (32, 33 balls, 4×4).

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim was out cheaply for 2. Naem and Shamsur again build the 75 runs in the 4th wicket partnership. Naem Islam who is replaced in place of star all rounder Shakib Al Hasan played wonderful strokes on the way to score 63 (75 balls) with 5 fours. Shamsur Rahman who is nicknamed as ‘Shuvo’ could not make the ending well as he was caught by Ronchi off Anderson in 96 runs in 107 balls (4×7, 6×4) , missing his first century. Naem (63 off 74, 4×5) scored his second fifty of the series in the partnership with Nasir Hossain.

Vice – Captain Mahmudullah Riyad took the charge after Naem ran out in 63. While hard hitter Nasir was clinching the Kiwi bowlers Mahmudullah accompanied him steadily on the other side of the crease. The 6th wicket down for the tigers when wicket keeper Ronchi took a sharp catch of Mahmudullah, the umpires on the field could not came to a decision and they called for the third umpire who gave the red signal for Mahmudullah (16, 13 balls, 4×1).

The newly world record holder in the test series Sohag Gazi came to the field to join dashing Nasir. Sohag handled the bowling attack of NZ skillfully and scored 11 off 10 balls with 2 fours including the winning boundary. Nasir was not out in 44 (38 balls, 4×5, and 6×1).
In the first half of the match, Tiger skipper Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and decided to field first. New Zealand scored 307 runs in their allotted 50 over’s.

Shamsur Rahman Shuvo was adjudged Man of the Match for his wonderful knock of 96. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim was adjudged Man of the Series. The only T20 match will be held in 6th of November.

Brief scores: New Zealand 307 (Ross Taylor 107*, Munro 85)
Mahmudullah 2/36, Abdur Razzak 1/57
Bangladesh 309/6 (Shamsur Rahman 96, Naem 63, Nasir 44*)
McClenaghan 2/65
Bangladesh won by 4 wickets.
Man of the Match: Shamsur Rahman.
Man of the Series: Mushfiqur Rahim.