Another final, another heart-break

Bangladesh have lost their fifth overall and second T20I final in a multi-national tournament as Dinesh Karthik seals last ball six to help India clinch Nidahas Trophy.

Another final, another heart-break

India sent Bangladesh to bat on a fresh Colombo track which wasn’t used in this tournament. Bangladesh posted 166/8 recovering from failures of top-orders.

Also Read - Live: India to field first

Openers Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das looked to give the Tigers a positive start but both got dismissed cheaply while playing big shots. Soumya Sarkar too fell in the same fashion.

In the 11th over, in-form Mushfiqur Rahim’s dismissal threw Bangladesh in deep trouble. Sabbir Rahman saw all these wickets falling apart. He anchored the innings towards the end. Mahmudullah Riyad looked good for his 16-ball 21 but was run out in serious mis-communication.

Sabbir aimed to make up for Mahmudullah’s loss as he brought up his fourth T20I half-century in 37 balls. Meanwhile, skipper Shakib Al Hasan risked himself to another run out.

It was all down to Sabbir and he delivered his team a 50-ball 77. He hit 7 fours and 4 sixes in his innings. Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s 19* off 7 including 18 of them from the last over helped Bangladesh post a total they can defend.

Indian spinners were brilliant. Yuzvendra Chahal bagged 3 for 18 while Washington Sundar took 1 for 20

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan took India to a flyer in reply. Dhawan however fell soon to Shakib. Suresh Raina was caught behind on a wide delivery off Rubel Hossain.

Skipper Rohit and KL Rahul put on a 51-run stand. Rubel struck again to dismiss Rahul. By the time Rohit reached his 14th T20I fifty, he started to struggle with his fitness. Nazmul Islam Apu got him caught at long-on in the 14th over to change the momentum of the game. Rohit departed scoring 42-ball 56 with 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Pressure kept mounting on India. Mustafizur Rahman not bowled a maiden over (one leg bye) in the 18th over but also sent back Manish Pandey for 28.

But there was a massive twist in the tell with Dinesh Karthik hitting 22 from the 19th over by Rubel. Part-timer Soumya Sarkar was given the ball to bowl the last over with 12 runs requiring to win. Vijay Shankar, who kept missing the balls, got out on the fifth ball. With 5 runs requiring to win, Karthik hit a flat six over the extra cover to finish off a thrilling final over in a final match.

Karthik smashed 29* off just 8 balls including 2 fours and 3 sixes.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh 166/8 in 20 overs (Sabbir 77; Chahal 3/18, Unadkat 2/33, Sundar 1/20)

India 168/6 in 20 overs (Rohit 56, Karthik 29*; Rubel 2/35, Mustafizur 1/21)

India won by 4 wickets

Man of the Match: Dinesh Karthik


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Nidahas Trophy profited Rs 94 crore for SLC

‘They said we never saw such kind of cutters’

If I could have bowled better then 16 cr people could have smiled: Soumya

‘It’s a different thing to see Fizz in nets and face him in the match’

I just wanted to hit every ball for a boundary: Dinesh Karthik