Another Win for The Barisal Bulls

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) has finally came out of the low scoring era. The Fours and Sixes have started to rain in Mirpur. Today in the first match of the day Chittagong Vikings played against the Barisal Bulls. Chittagong Kings scored 163 runs batting first. Barisal Bulls top order made this a easy chase for them playing with responsibility. As result Barisal Bulls won the convincingly by 9 wickets. (দেখুন সাকিবের ৬ বলে মাশরাফির ৪ ছক্কা) 


This was the last match of the both teams before the Chittagong phase of the tournament starts on 17 of November. Chittagong Vikings came into the match seeking a win desperately after two loses in a row. They were up against the Barisal Bulls who have shown some positive cricket in recent matches.

Also Read - Mashrafe leaves hotel in contention with franchise

Barisal Bulls lost their first wicket very early, while chasing the total. Joshua Cobb who was playing his first match went out for 6. But since then the Barisal Bulls batted sensibly. Shahriar Nafees was promoted and came at number 3 today. He joined David Malan, the other opener.

They added 150 runs for the second wicket. Nafees brought up his third half-century of the tournament. He made 65 runs off 59 balls hitting 7 fours and 1 six. Unluckily he went out when his team need 7 more runs to win. Parera also departed immediately the next ball.

But Malan stayed unbeaten till the end. He played a match-winning knock of 78* runs from 48 deliveries including 3 fours and 7 sixes. Barisal Bulls cruised to their target in 19.4 overs.

Earlier when asked to bats first Chittagong Vikings got a good start. Captain Tamim batted superbly and was supported well by his new opening partner Jahurul Islam. The captain got to his fifty in only 38 balls.

And just when it seeming the tournament is getting second centurian Tamim went out. He was outfoxed by a slower delivery of Kamrul at 75. Immediately the run rate started decrease for Vikings. The next over his opening partner Jahurul also went out by 36. After that Anamul Haque and Dwayne Smith looked to bat sensibly without losing any further wicket till the very last ball of the innings.

Both scored 41 runs in the 3rd wicket partnership before Dwayne Smith was went who went out scoring 17 runs at run a ball. Anamul stayed not-out for 27*. Kamrul Islam was the best among Barisal bowlers for his wicket giving away only 21 runs in four overs.

Match Summary

12th Match: Barisal Bulls v Chittagong Vikings at Dhaka,

Chittagong Vikings 163/3 (20 ov)

Tamim 75 | Jahurul 36 | Kamrul 1/21

Barisal Bulls 167/3 (19.4 ov)

Malan 78* | Shahriar 65

Result – Barisal Bulls won by 7 wickets,  (2 balls remaining)

* Maksudul Haque, for-BDCRICTEAM.COM

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Mashrafe met in private meeting with national team head coach

Gayle to play in EPL

Qazi Onik likely to face suspension after failing dope test

Bangabandhu BPL 2019-20 logo unveiled

Afghan off-spin sensation Mujeeb Ur Rahman gets engaged