Arrangement of BPL 2018 under uncertainty for national election

The 2018 Bangladesh Premier League which would be the sixth edition of the country’s largest T20 competition, is now amidst uncertain condition on account of forthcoming national election.

The schedule of 2018 BPL had once been altered when it was rescheduled in January instead of December for countrywide national election which is also supposed to take place in that month.

Now if under any circumstances, the national election would be hold off until January 2019, the arrangement of this season’s BPL will be in ambiguous condition.

Also Read - ICC ODI rankings updates, Kohli, Bumrah remains at the top

BCB media committee chairman and also the BPL technical committee head Jalal Yunus said, “We all suppose that we could arrange this year’s BPL in January if the national election would be done in December.

The tentative date of the start of the tournament has so far been fixed to 4th to 5th of January 2019 but the date of election is yet to be announced by the government.”

If the election date would be reshuffled anyway, we would have to rethink about the date of the competition.”

Whether the tournament could take place in January or not, is still unforeseeable. The future of Bangladesh Premier League this season might be interrupted if it could not be taken place even in January because of the hectic international fixture later in the coming year.

Bangladesh national team will fly to New Zealand on 6th of February to play 3 Test matches and 3 ODIs.

Jalal Yunus said, “We have informed everyone concerned. Franchise authorities also contacted with cricketers based on that time period. But we all have to look after the national interest. If the tournament would have to postpone from January also, it is yet to be decided what we will do after that.”

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

David Warner set to return in field following injury scare

Watch: Alex Hales’s 100 run against Chittagong Vikings

Watch: Afridi’s bizarre dismissal against Chittagong Vikings

David Warner to lead Sylhet Sixers in BPL 2019

Riders ride in with explosive trio