Ashraful returns to BPL, picked by Chittagong Vikings

Former Bangladesh skipper Mohammad Ashraful who was banned from all forms of the game after being found involved in the BPL match-fixing finally returns to the Bangladesh Premier League. [বাংলায় পড়ুন: বিপিএলে আশরাফুলের মূল্য ১৮ লাখ টাকা]Ashraful to play in BCL this year

The 34-year old cricketer has been picked by Chittagong Vikings during the player draft for the upcoming season of the tournament which begins on January 5.

Earlier, the player was barred from playing all forms of cricket for eight years. However, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), later on, changed their decision in respect of his appeal and allowed him to play in the other domestic tournaments except for the BPL.

Ashraful who is yet to play a top-tier T20 game since 2013, has done reasonably well with the bat in the first class cricket in the last two years.

The returning cricketer will play under former Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim’s captaincy in the sixth season of the Bangladesh Premier League as the franchise picked up the wicket-keeper batsman from the A+ category (the top category) just a few minutes before the player drafts.

Chittagong Vikings squad for the BPL 2019:

Mushfiqur Rahim, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed,  Mohammad Ashraful, Robiul Haque, Sikandar Raza, Luke Ronchi, Najibullah Zadran, Sunzamul Islam, Mohammad Shahzad,  Syed Khaled Ahmed, Nayeem Hasan, Robbie Frylinck, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nihaduzzaman, Shadman Islam, Cameron Delport, Najibullah Zadran and Dasun Shanaka

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

All-around Chittagong Vikings seal thrilling win

Complete Squads of all franchise teams of BPL 2018-19

Full fixture of BPL-2019 announced

BPL players draft held for season six