Australia name Test squad for India series with some big surprising names

Cricket Australia (CA) has named an enlarged squad of 17 members for four-match Test series against India with some big uncapped player inclusions.

Australia name Test squad for India series with some big surprising names

Uncapped Will Pucovski and Cameron Green have been picked for the Test series alongside with Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott and Michael Neser. All these five players have been called because of their extra-ordinary performances in opening rounds of the Marsh Sheffield Shield this season.

Also Read - LPL 2020: Thilina Kandamby appointed Jaffna Stallions head coach

22-year old Pucovski had achieved a new landmark recently after scoring back to back double centuries in Sheffield Shield. He had done this unbelievable record after almost 21 years. He’s also the highest Sheffield Shield run-scorer this season.

Green is considered as one of the brightest Australia star for future. He’s also been in outstanding form this season of Sheffield Shield as he hit career best 197 against New South Wales. The all-rounder also did well in bowling.

On the other hand, uncapped Abbott and Neser have been picked as backup alongside Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and James Pattinson. Spinner Swepson will also play as backup for Nathan Lyon. He’s also the highest wicket-taker this season in Sheffield Shield.

The most noticeable part is selectors keep Joe Burns in the squad despite his poor run in domestic cricket this season. He scored just 57 runs in 5 innings till now.

CA has also named 19-man Australia ‘A’ squad including some Test squad members- captain Tim Paine, Travis Head, James Pattinson, Burns, Pucovski, Abbott, Green, Swepson and Neser.

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia ‘A’ squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Joe Burns, Jackson Bird, Alex Carey (wk), Harry Conway, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh (subject to fitness), Michael Neser, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson

Related Articles

India lose a point in ODI Super League

It would be nicer if Warner gets injured for a long time: KL Rahul

I can’t understand that kind of captaincy: Gambhir criticizes Kohli

Warner, Cummins out of remaining white-ball games against India

Saha back at nets, in line for first Test against Australia