Australia women break Ponting’s men’s world record

Meg Lanning’s Australia women’s team has gone past Ricky Ponting’s World Cup-winning team’s record ODI streak in 2003.

Australia women break Ponting's men's world record
The record breakers Australia. Photo: Courtesy


Australia men’s team had 21 consecutive wins in the format in the World Cup year. 18 years later, Australia women have gone one above during the first ODI against New Zealand at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.

Also Read - Plans in place for 14-team 2027 World Cup

Australia women’s 22-match winning streak began in March 2018, against India in the first match of ODI Championship series in Vadodara. Including India, Australia went on to whitewash 3-0 Pakistan (in Malaysia), New Zealand (at home), England (away), West Indies (away), Sri Lanka (at home) and New Zealand again (at home).

Australia women equalled the men’s record in October last year, beating New Zealand by 232 runs in Brisbane.

Australia women have had winning streaks of 10 or more on nine occasions.

Most consecutive ODI wins: 

22* – Australia women (2018-present)
21 – Australia men (2003)
17 – Australia women (1997-99)
16 – Australia women (1999-2000)
16 – India women (2016-17)

On Sunday, Australia chased down 213 in 38.3 overs to go 1-0 up in the three-match series. Megan Schutt (4/32) and Nicola Carey (3/34) restricted the hosts to 212 all-out from 159/2. Opener Lauren Down scored 90 runs off 134 balls for New Zealand.

Australia lost two for 37 including their captain Lanning for 5, but half-centuries from Alyssa Healy (65 off 68), Ellyse Perry (56* off 79) and Ashleigh Gardner (53* off 41) guided them home.

“It’s a great achievement over a long period of time, shows how consistent we’ve been. Something we’ll look back on. That’s been a strength of ours, having key pillars throughout the team. We have a mixture of experience and youth. We like to play an aggressive brand of cricket. We don’t want to put any handbrakes on,” Lanning said after the game.

Bay Oval will host the next two ODIs on April 7 and 10 to conclude New Zealand’s home international summer.

Related Articles

Having guys like AB de Villiers behind me is a luxury: Maxwell

Tigers look to use home advantage against England, Australia, New Zealand

CA set to confirm rescheduled one-off Test against Afghanistan

Starc reveals why he pulled out of IPL 2021

Bangladesh move to No.7 in T20I rankings