Awarding six runs to England was a ‘clear mistake’: Simon Taufel


Former international match official and a member of cricket’s rule book maintaining committee Simon Taufel slammed the field umpire’s decision of awarding ‘six runs’ to England for an over throw and termed it as a “clear mistake”.

Awarding six runs to England was a 'clear mistake': Simon Taufel

This incident took place in the ultimate of England’s innings when the ball deflected off Stokes’ outstretched bat running for a four when he desperately dived to get the second run. 

Also Read - Hope it never happens again: Kane Williamson rues on overthrow saga


Australian born Taufel said that the umpires made a serious mistake giving away six runs to England instead of five in that case. He noted it as an ‘error of judgment’ while applying MCC laws.

“It’s a clear mistake it’s an error of judgment. In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw,”

Simon Taufel told as quoted by the Fox sports.

“Obviously TV replays showed otherwise.”

“The difficulty you (umpires) have here is you’ve got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release (of the throw). You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment,” Taufel added.

“It’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome.”

England eventually tied New Zealand’s score in fifty overs leading the final went into a super over.

Chasing 241 to win their maiden World Cup title, England were bowled out for 240. The tied match led to the super over to bring the result but incidentally, the Super Over also ended as a tie and England were crowned world champions as they had scored more boundaries during the final.

Rule 19.8: Overthrow or willful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be

— any runs for penalties awarded to either side

— and the allowance for the boundary

— and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

 

Like and Share the news if you liked it.