Babar Azam, Alyssa Healy bag Player of the Month awards

Pakistan’s Babar Azam (male) and Australia’s Alyssa Healy (female) have been voted as the ICC players of the month for April.

Babar Azam urges citizens of India to stay strong amid Covid-19 second wave

Azam had a terrific tour of Africa which got him to No.1 in men’s ODI batting rankings, taking over India’s Virat Kohli. He scored 226 runs including a hundred in the three ODIs against South Africa. He amassed 305 runs in seven T20Is against South Africa and Zimbabwe, hitting a first T20I ton (122) against the Proteas.

Also Read - Dominant Pakistan complete series sweep

Speaking of Azam’s approach, ex-Pakistan cricketer and current commentator Ramiz Raja has deemed Azam’s style as one of two ways to bat in limited-overs cricket.

“The world bats in two ways in white ball cricket. One way is to destroy attacks with muscle and force and then there is the Babar Azam way, like conducting a batting symphony with punch, panache and flair, and he deserves to win this award,” Raja said in a statement.

Azam is only the third Pakistani man after Zaheer Abbas, Javed Miandad and Mohammad Yousuf to top ODI batting charts.

Babar Azam, Alyssa Healy bag Player of the Month awards

Aussie keeper-batter Healy had a historic month of April in which Australia set the record for most consecutive ODI wins – 24 – going past Ricky Ponting’s men’s 21 in 2003. Healy is one of only four players to have played all 24 games.

She scored 155 runs at a strike rate of 98.72 in the three-ODI tour of New Zealand. The 31-year-old scored 44 off 50 in her 200th ODI for Australia during the second ODI.

“Healy deserves to win the ICC Women’s Player of the Month – April as she added the runs at the top consistently and at a good tempo to help set up Australia’s scoring in chases and target setting across all three games of their record-breaking series,” commentator Ian Bishop said.

Related Articles

Healy reacts after Indian fan mocks her husband Mitchell Starc

Starc’s wife surpasses Dhoni’s dismissal record in T20

ICC announces Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 Team of the Tournament

Sania Mirza takes a swipe at subcontinent mentality

Australia clinch record fifth World Cup title