Balbirnie to lead Ireland Wolves against Bangladesh ‘A’

Cricket Ireland has announced the 13-men squad entitled Ireland Wolves to play three T20 matches against visiting Bangladesh A.

Balbirnie to lead Ireland Wolves against Bangladesh ‘A’

The matches will be played from 13 to 17 August 2018.

The strong combination will be led by Irish international performer Andrew Balbirnie. The squad also includes Kevin O’Brien and William Porterfield, Ireland’s most experienced duo.

Also Read - Du Plessis to miss rest of SL tour

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said, “The Ireland Wolves is about taking into consideration the strength of the opposition and, in this case, the need to prepare some of the senior players for the Afghanistan series which follows a number of days later. The selectors also wanted to provide up-and-coming talent the opportunity to play alongside experienced internationals as part of their development pathway, and therefore named a strong squad with those two objectives in mind.”

“Cricket Ireland and Head Coach Graham Ford have agreed to release Tyrone Kane and David Delany to play in the Clear Currency Irish Cup Semi Final on the Sunday (12 August 2018). We all recognize the importance of club cricket in the development of the players and where we believe it is feasible, and in the best interests of the player, we will continue to try to support the clubs in this way,” he said.

“These Wolves matches also fit into the longer-term planning of the senior management team in building towards the World T20 Qualifier in 2019. We want a competitive squad to succeed in that tournament, and the Wolves provides an ideal vehicle to test and assess different players and various tactics,” he added.

The squad
Andrew Balbirnie (C), Peter Chase, David Delany, George Dockrell, Tyrone Kane, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, James Shannon, Simi Singh, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Balbirnie handed one demerit point by ICC

Watch: Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi’s 5-wicket haul against Ireland

Watch: Ben Foakes controversial stumping compared to ‘mankading’

Afghanistan script first Test win

Ireland level limited over series against Afghanistan