Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan Tests positive for Covid-19 and miss out the first Test against Sri Lanka

Shakib Al Hasan last played a test match against Pakistan in November 2021.

vision mobile

Nishat Jahid

Posted -

Updated -

Bangladeshi star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan tested positive for COVID-19 on Tuesday, ruling him out of the first test against Sri Lanka which begins May 15 in Chattogram.
Shakib was due to make his long-awaited return to the Test arena during the two-game streak, but the 35-year-old will now be forced to isolate himself from the rest of the squad for the next five days.
The 2022 Sri Lanka Tour of Bangladesh consists of two match Test series and a two day match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh XI to be played at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan No 3 Ground, Savar.
Meanwhile, the first test of the two-test match series between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka is scheduled to start on Sunday 15 May at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. And the second and final test of the series will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur from Monday 23 May.
Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) doctor Monjur Hossain has announced that Bangladesh National Cricket Team star Shakib Al Hasan has been found positive for Covid-19 after returning from the US, according to a report in The Daily Star .
Meanwhile, Bangladesh Cricket Board chairman Jalal Yunus confirmed Shakib will miss the first of two Tests against Sri Lanka. Shakib had previously missed the New Zealand test tour due to personal reasons and was forced to return home on the tour of South Africa after the ODIs due to his family's health issues. He is one of the most important players in the squad and Bangladesh has always admired him as a match winner in all formats.
Bangladesh have already lost the services of Mehidy Hasan Miraz for the first Test after suffering an injury in the Dhaka Premier League, while Taskin Ahmed is yet to fully recover from his shoulder injury.

Bangladesh Squad for the first Test

Mominul Haque Showrab (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Kumar Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Qazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness), Mosaddek Hossain Saikat.