Bangladesh announce primary squad for WI tour

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)  announced a 31-member primary squad  on Tuesday for the upcoming tour of West Indies, involving two Tests, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals, scheduled in July and August. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ওয়েস্ট ইন্ডিজ সফরে বাংলাদেশের ৩১ ক্রিকেটারের তালিকা] 

The selected players will report to National Team Strength & Conditioning Coach Mario Villavarayen on the first day of the camp.

Also Read - India announce ODI and T20I squad for England-Ireland tour

Bangladesh, who played quite regularly during the last 12 months, are currently enjoying a break after taking part in the Nidahas Trophy, and are scheduled to start their preparation from May 13.

The 19-year-old medium-fast bowler Yeasin Arafat is the only first-time entrant in the national squad, having been rewarded for his domestic performances, while Saifuddin, Sanjamul Islam and Shuvashish Roy could not make it to the primary squad.

BCB will shortly announce a squad of 22 players for the ‘A’ team, while eight more players are likely be included in the same list as High Performance players.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu said: “Certainly they (Tushar and Naeem) have performed well in the domestic arena but we are interested to include them in the Bangladesh ‘A’ team squad. We are focused on picking players for the primary squad keeping in mind that we have to play a series of international matches and as a result, the squad should consist of players who can replace certain players in case of emergency.”

Bangladesh are expected to travel to India to play a short series against Afghanistan in June before they travel to West Indies later in the month for a full-fledged series against the Caribbean side.

Primary squad: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Naeem Hasan, Abu Hider, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shadman Islam, Yeasin Arafat, Abul Hasan Raju, Abdur Razzak

Related Articles

BCB hopeful of Shakib playing in Asia Cup

County doors to open for Tigers?

Tamim excited to work with McKenzie

Mominul perfect replacement for Shakib?

On This Day: Tamim records 154, Bangladesh chase 313