Bangladesh announce squad for first two SL ODIs

Bangladesh have named 15 players for the first two of the three ODIs against Sri Lanka.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan returns to the team after missing the tour of New Zealand with personal reasons. Shakib will be returning to number three position in this series. He made 28 off 20 with the bat in the intra-squad match at BKSP on Thursday.

Also Read - KS Bharat roped in as back-up for Saha for WTC final, England series

Left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam is the only uncapped player as the pace bowling group also includes Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mahedi Hasan are the other frontline spinners in the squad except Shakib. Afif Hossain and Mosaddek Hossain will offer part-time spin bowling.

Naim Sheikh, Taijul Islam, Shohidul Islam and Aminul Islam Biplob are stand-by players.

Top-order batter Najmul Hossain Shanto has been left out after dismal performance batting at three in the home series against West Indies. Soumya Sarkar, who batted at this very slot in New Zealand, remains in the team.

Pacers Hasan Mahmud and Rubel Hossain are out with injuries.

The first ODI will be played on May 23. This will be Bangladesh’s third Cricket World Cup Super League series. Thus far, they have 30 points to their name. Sri Lanka have -2 points from their tour of Caribbean.

Bangladesh squad (first two ODIs): Tamim Iqbal Khan (captain), Liton Kumar Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mahedi Hasan, Shoriful Islam.

Stand-by: Naim Sheikh, Taijul Islam, Shohidul Islam, Aminul Islam Biplob.

Sri Lanka squad: Kusal Perera (captain), Kusal Mendis (vice-captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 2021 ODI fixtures: 

May 23: 1st ODI

May 25: 2nd ODI

May 28: 3rd ODI


Related Articles

When Test cricket had finals

Injured Tamim to miss DPL Super League

Bangladesh players set for pay rise

Shadow team ‘Bangladesh Tiger’ approved

BCB interested to host Champions Trophy, co-host World Cups