Bangladesh announce squad for T20Is

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced 15-man squad on Friday for the three match T20I series against Windies. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বাদ পড়লেন তিনজন, ফিরলেন দুজন]

Tamim Iqbal is congratulated after taking a brilliant catch
Tamim Iqbal is congratulated after taking a brilliant catch

Opener Tamim Iqbal, who returned after a long-term injury makes his comeback in the T20 format. Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar has also been picked for their consistent performances in this format while Mohammad Mithun and Mohammad Mohammad Saifuddin has also been included in the squad.

Sabbir Rahman, who was a regular face in the T20I side is still serving the six-month ban while Mosaddek Hossain has also been dropped as the selectors doesn’t want to rush in after the player just came from leading Bangladesh in the Emerging Asia Cup.

Bangladesh’s Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin explained the reason behind the inclusion of Saifuddin and Mithun –

Also Read - Watch: Handscomb falls for Kohli's spectacular catch

“We have included Mithun as we need a batsman down the order. There is a gap down the order so we needed to fill it with a batsman and Mithun recently is having a good run with the bat.”

“We opted for Saifuddin as the team management demanded for an all-rounder, an out-and-out pace bowler, and that is the reason Abu Jayed had to make way for Saifuddin. We are keeping an eye on Mosaddek as he just played in Emerging Cup. We don’t want to rush with him,” he said.

SquadShakib Al Hasan (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (Vice Captain), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Mohd. Mithun, Mohd. Saifuddin, Abu Hider Rony, Ariful Haque.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Will give our best shot against India: Shakib

Shakib Walked Into Cricket History and Bangladesh Won Big

It’s difficult mathematically but anything is possible in cricket: Shakib

Twitter erupts as Bangladesh clinch crucial win against Afghanistan

Shakib explodes the records book