Bangladesh begin practice in Sri Lanka

Bangladesh have attended their first training session at Chilaw Marians Cricket Club Ground, Katunayake ahead of the two-Test series against Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh begin practice in Sri Lanka
Mushfiqur Rahim leaves a ball. Photo: BCB


The Tigers landed in Sri Lanka on April 12, and were sent to three-day hotel quarantine before they could start ‘quarantine’ practice. All the touring members returned negative for coronavirus on arrival.

Also Read - I was waiting for such an innings for a long time: Babar

Bangladesh had skill training, that started at 9:30 am local time on Thursday (April 15). They will train on Friday as well before taking part in a two-day intra-squad game in Katunayake.

Taijul Islam in his delivery stride. Photo: BCB


Bangladesh travelled with a 21-member preliminary squad which will be cut down for a final squad.

The series begins on April 21, with the second Test to follow on April 29. Pallekele International Stadium will host the two matches.

Hosts Sri Lanka are also yet to name their squad for the last World Test Championship league stage series.

Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka 2021 itinerary:

April 17-18: Intra-squad warm-up, Katunayake
April 21-25: 1st Test, Pallekele International Stadium, Kandy
April 29-May 3: 2nd Test, Pallekele International Stadium, Kandy
May 4: Bangladesh will return home

Bangladesh preliminary Test squad: Mominul Haque (captain), Liton Kumar Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.

Related Articles

SL name squad for Bangladesh tour, Kusal Perera to lead

Domingo to continue as Bangladesh head coach

Shakib to skip PSL for DPL T20

Understanding fielding in Liton’s way

I understand my game better: Liton Das