Bangladesh field first, Hasan debuts

International cricket is back in Bangladesh after ten months. The hosts have opted to field first in the series opening ODI against West Indies at Mirpur.

Bangladesh field first, Hasan debuts
Tamim Iqbal and Jason Mohammed at the toss. ©CWI


Bangladesh have handed ODI debut to 21-year-old fast bowler Hasan Mahmud. He will be with two other pacers Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain. While Mehidy Hasan Miraz finds a place as the second spinner.

Also Read - Starc to undergo scan on hamstring after Gabba Test pain

Soumya Sarkar will bat at number seven. Najmul Hossain Shanto will come in at three.

Shakib Al Hasan is back in Bangladeshi colours after over a year gap. He last played an ODI during the World Cup 2019.

Tamim Iqbal is in his fourth ODI as captain, fast since being appointed as full-timer.

West Indies have six debutants: Joshua da Silva, Andre McCarthy, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Akeal Hosein and Chemar Holder.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud

West Indies: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva (wk), Andre McCarthy, Nkrumah Bonner, Jason Mohammed (captain), Rovman Powell, Kyle Mayers, Akeal Hosein, Raymon Reifer, Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder

Related Articles

Isolation felt like I was in jail: Miraz

Tamim optimistic of winning in New Zealand

Tigers leave for New Zealand

Country comes first: Fizz on Tests vs IPL

BCB faces scheduling trouble