Bangladesh leading by 88 runs with 9 wickets in hand

Throughout a day of total dominance in the field, the Tigers are batting in their second innings, scored 45 runs for the loss of Soumya Sarkar in their second innings, thus leading by 88 runs at stumps of the second day of the first Test at the Sher – e – Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ চালকের আসনে বাংলাদেশ]

Belligerent Tamim Iqbal Khan is unbeaten scoring 30 runs of 70 deliveries with 2 shots of four. After the departure of other opener Soumya Sarkar, skipper Mushfiqur Rahim sent Taijul Islam as the night watchman and Taijul successfully ran till the end of the day playing 9 deliveries without opening up his account.

Australian skipper Steve Smith tried five bowlers in 22 overs Bangladesh played but only Ashton Agar was successful claiming a wicket.

Also Read - Shakib completes fifers against all nations

Before that, Bangladesh bowlers picked up all the wickets of Australia within 74.5 overs, the visitors were bundled out scoring 217 runs only, giving a handy 43 run lead to the home team.

Credit goes to Shakib Al Hasan; the world number one all-rounder completed fifer against all the Test playing nations. After his innings saving 84 runs, Shakib captured 5 wickets conceding just 68 runs.

দেখুন প্রথম ইনিংসে অস্ট্রেলিয়ার ১০ উইকেট

Bangladesh bamboozled Australia by a strong spin attack. Apart from Shakib Al Hasan, young all-rounder Mehedi Hasan Miraz also claimed 3 wickets and Taijul Islam got the other one.

Brief Score:

Bangladesh 1st innings 260 all out

Tamim Iqbal 71, Shakib Al Hasan 84, Mushfiqur Rahim 18

Ashton Agar 3/46, Nathan Lyon 3/79, Pat Cummins 3/63

Australia 1st innings 217 all out

Matt Renshaw 45, Ashton Agar 41*, Peter Handscomb 33

Shakib Al Hasan 5/68, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 3/62, Taijul Islam 1/32

Bangladesh 2nd innings 45/1

Tamim Iqbal 30*, Taijul Islam 0*

Toss: Bangladesh

Related Articles

BCB responds to the criticism of bad outfield

‘Australia were more consistent than us’ says Walsh

Chief selector blames implementation of batting for the loss

Why Mominul is in number eight?

Mushfiq, Miraz, Sabbir, Mustafiz improve in ‘ICC Test Player Rankings’