Bangladesh make history with five ODI series wins on the bounce


Jannatul Naym Pieal

Bangladesh played their maiden One-Day International (ODI) match in the Asia Cup 1986. But at that time they could play in the multinational tournaments only, since not having the ODI status. But after getting the ODI status in 1997, they took part in their first ever bilateral ODI series 1999, which was against West Indies, comprising only two matches.

Also Read - Video Highlights: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, 2nd ODI

Quick link ভিডিও হাইলাইটসঃ বাংলাদেশ-জিম্বাবুয়ে ২য় ওয়ানডে

However Bangladesh had to wait till 2005 to get the taste of their maiden ODI series victory, when they got over Zimbabwe. Since then, it has been a regular affair for the Tigers to claim bilateral ODI series. So far they have won as many as 21 bilateral ODI series. They have also won four series on the bounce on several occasions before.

In the 2006-07 season, they won four series on the trot. But those series were against the likes of Scotland, Zimbabwe and Kenya. Again in 2009, they won four back to back series. Of those, two were again against Zimbabwe and the other two against West Indies and New Zealand respectively. But the matter of fact is, the Tigers have never clinched five straight series wins before.

But the history has been rewritten tonight when they beat Zimbabwe by 58 runs in the second of the three-match ODI series. With this, they now have five bilateral ODI series on the bounce. The first series victory of this streak came against the same opponent, Zimbabwe in November last year. Then following their World Cup success earlier this year, they have brought the giants Pakistan, India and South Africa down to earth.

And now they have booked another series against Zimbabwe. In the process, they have sealed their first ever five straight ODI series win on the trot. This is now their own best record in history. But they are still a long way to go if they want to make the world record. Back in 2002-03 season to 2004, Australia won 10 straight ODI series. Again in 2008-09 season, they had 9 straight series wins. And the world cricket also saw six straight series wins in the past for a total of 9 times.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Video Highlights: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, 2nd T20I

LIVE: Tigers opt to bat first in final T20

Video Clip: A dream, stylish finish by Mashrafe

Video Highlights: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, 1st T20I

Waller lifts Zimbabwe to 131