Bangladesh ODI squad named for NZ tour

Bangladesh Cricket Board has named a new-look Tigers ODI squad to take on New Zealand in three ODIs next month. [ফিরলেন সাব্বির-তাসকিন, বাদ পড়লেন তিনজন] 

bangladesh and new zealand players shake hands

Sabbir Rahman and Taskin Ahmed have returned to the squad after formidable performances in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League T20. Sabbir was on a six-month ban from the BCB due to disciplinary issues.

Sabbir played a knock of 85 runs for Sylhet Sixers against Rangpur Riders. While his Sixers team-mate Taskin has taken 14 taken in seven matches till now.

Also Read - Watch: Dhoni and Kuldeep script Boult's wicket

Off-spinner Nayeem Hasan has earned a maiden call-up for ODIs. He was a part of Bangladesh’s winning side against Windies in his debut Test in Chattogram. He has played two Tests so far. He also has been economical in BPL for his team Chittagong Vikings.

Nayeem took 5 for 61 on debut
Nayeem took 5 for 61 on debut


Imrul Kayes, Abu Hider Rony and Nazmul Islam Apu have been left out of the squad to let Sabbir, Taskin and Nayeem in. Imrul scored 349 runs in three ODIs against Zimbabwe but failed in Windies series. Rony and Apu were with the team since Asia Cup but irregular.

Bangladesh will play the first ODI against New Zealand in Napier. The second and third ODIs will be held in Christchurch and Dunedin on February 16 and 20 respectively. The warm-up one-day will be at Lincoln on February 10.

This is the second time Bangladesh will be touring New Zealand in two years. They lost all of three ODIs, three T20Is and two Tests during their visit in 2016/17.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Bangladesh retain Mashrafe as ODI captain for Zimbabwe series

Winning against Zimbabwe doesn’t mean all: Taijul Islam

Complete schedule of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

Zimbabwe confident in familiar conditions

Mominul wishes to have long term captaincy for better planning