Bangladesh register comfortable win against Zimbabwe

The Tigers see the win in Test after long awaiting 6 Tests. They pick up the win before ending the fourth day of the only Test against Zimbabwe in Mirpur. They beat Zimbabwe by an innings and 106 runs and win the series by 1-0.

Bangladesh register comfortable win against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh took big lead in the first innings with the help of Mushfiqur Rahim’s double century. In order to avoid the innings defeat, it was necessary to score 296 runs for Zimbabwe, while on the third day of the last afternoon, Nayeem Hasan took two wickets and Zimbabwe ended the day at 9/2.

Also Read - Neesham takes Trump's side in mispronunciation controversy

Bangladeshi bowlers took control of the first session of the fourth day also. In the fifth over of the day, Kevin Kasuza returned in the spin of Taijul. He scored 10 runs.

Craig Ervine could be the savior with the experienced Brendan Taylor. But Nayeem Hasan again got the breakthrough by taking the wicket of Taylor who scored 17 runs.

Losing 4 wickets for 44 runs Zimbabwe captain Ervine and all-rounder Sikandar Raza tried to manage the situation. The duo added 60 runs in the fifth wicket. Ervin scored 43 runs off 49 balls with 6 fours and a six before he was run out by Mominul Haque. Sikandar Raza and Timycen Maruma spent the rest of the time safely before lunch.

They lost the wicket of Raza soon after lunch. He scored 37 runs before being caught in the hands of Mushfiqur Rahim by Taijul Islam. Maruma and Regis Chakabva fought slightly after his departure. The duo added 44 runs in the seventh wicket. Chakabva (18) returned to the pavilion being the third victim of Taijul Islam.

Then, the second innings of the visitors did not last long. Nayeem Hasan took his fifth victim, Maruma, who scored 41 runs. In the third ball of the 58th over, Charlton Tshuma got out by LBW by Taijul and Zimbabwe were all out for just 189 runs.

This is Bangladesh’s 14th win in Test history, 2nd win by an innings, and 7th win against Zimbabwe. It is also Bangladesh’s first win under captain Mominul Haque.

Brief Score:

Zimbabwe 265/10 and 189/10 (57.3 overs), Craig Ervine 43, Timycen Maruma 41; Nayeem Hasan 24-6-82-5, Taijul Islam 24.3-7-78-4.

Bangladesh 560/6 dec (154 overs), Mushfiqur Rahim 203, Mominul Haque 132; Ainsley Ndlovu 42-4-170-2, Victor Nyauchi 27-3-87-1

Result: Bangladesh won by an innings and 106 runs.

Related Articles

Bangladesh eye victory after Mushfiqur’s double ton