Bangladesh squad to be named Sunday

Bangladesh’s squad for three T20 Internationals against Afghanistan next month will be announced on Sunday at a press conference.

Bangladesh squad to be named Sunday

Pacer Taskin Ahmed and one batsman from Nidahas Trophy squad are expected to be scrapped. The batsman will stay in the country and prepare himself for Tests in Windies.

Also Read - Royals stay alive; RCB knocked out

Taskin along with Abu Hider Rony and Mehidy Hasan Miraz were disappointing in Nidahas Trophy. However, Miraz is likely to retain his place in the squad. Soumya Sarkar also had a dismal tri-series. The team management might yet still have faith in him.

Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain and Zakir Hasan are likely to be included in the squad for Afghanistan series. Afif and Zakir made their T20 debuts against Sri Lanka at home this year. But they aren’t picked in the 31-member preliminary squad.

Apart from Mehidy, Nayeem Hasan is the only other specialist off-spinner. Seamers Abul Hasan Raju and Yeasin Arafat are also the contenders for the squad. Abul was impressive in the Bangladesh Premier League while Yeasin proved himself in the domestic arena.

Sabbir Rahman, who was suspended from domestic cricket for six months after allegedly assaulting a fan in a first-class match, will hold his place in the team most probably. His recent performance was a 50-ball 77 against India in the Nidahas Trophy final, where the Tigers lost in last over drama.

Afghanistan are ranked No.8 in the T20I rankings with 85 points while Bangladesh are No.10 with 75 points. Shakib Al Hasan’s men will look to improve their position in the rankings in the three T20Is at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Dehradun.


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Sabbir breaches discipline once again

VIDEO: Afghanistan players’ ‘Naagin’ dance after thrilling series win against Bangladesh

Shakib achieves elite double

Live: Afghanistan bat first in last T20I

Somehow now I don’t find them to be representing Bangladesh: BCB President