Bangladesh’s 2015 win over England named as the greatest moment in WC history

Another ICC Cricket World Cup is knocking at the door. So ahead of the World Cup, the global governing body of cricket International Cricket Council (ICC) is arranging different features and competitions to make it more interesting.

Among them, one of the competition was “Bira 91 ICC Cricket World Cup Greatest Moments” competition. Bangladesh’s victory over England in the 2015 tournament was selected as the winner of the competition.

Also Read - South Africa's Kagiso Rabada expected to be fully fit ahead of World Cup

For selecting the winner of this competition, ICC arranged a pole in their official website. Cricket fans and followers from all over the world voted for the best moment in the World Cup. And after a hard fought, only two moments were selected for the final stage.

The two moments were- MS Dhoni’s title-sealing six in 2011 and Bangladesh’s 2015 win over England. There’s not much separating between these two moments. But at the last, Bangladesh’s historic win was selected according to the votes.

Bangladesh beat England by 15 runs in a nail-biting match in 2015 World Cup which was organized by Australia and New Zealand. With that win, Bangladesh qualified for the knockout stage for the first time in their history. That win against England will be remembered by their fans for the long time surely after the moment won the greatest moment tag in the history of the World Cup.

The competition was much immense as MS Dhoni’s title-sealing six in 2011 got 49 percentage vote whereas Bangladesh’s 2015 win over England got 51 percentage vote to beat Dhoni’s moment by a little margin.

ICC recognized the moment as the greatest moment in the World Cup history via social media including Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Bangladesh will begin this year’s World Cup tournament against South Africa on June 2 at The Oval.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Bangladesh to bid for World Cup hosting rights

BCCI looking for representatives in ICC committees

Who will win U19 Cricket World Cup 2020?

ICC announce Test XI of 2019

ICC announce ODI Team of the Year