Bavuma ruled out of T20I series

South Africa white-ball skipper Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the four-match T20I series against Pakistan.

Bavuma ruled out of T20I series
South Africa’s newly appointed captain Temba Bavuma. Photo: Getty Images


Bavuma picked up a grade one hamstring strain during the third ODI in Centurion. After the series defeat, he could not even attend the post-match presentation. Head coach Mark Boucher was the one from Proteas camp speaking.

Also Read - Champaka Ramanayake's contract with BCB set to be extended

Heinrich Klaasen will lead the hosts. He was the T20I captain when South Africa had made a tour to Pakistan earlier this year.

Top-order batter Rassie van der Dussen will vontinue treatment and monitoring of his grade one left quadriceps muscle strain, a Cricket South Africa release said.

Rookies Janneman Malan and Kyle Verreynne, who impressed in the third ODI, have been named in the T20I squad.

Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Daryn Dupavillon and Wiaan Mulder are the others to retain place from the ODI squad.

Reeza Hendricks has pulled himself out for personal reasons.

The T20I series will kick off on April 10, in Johannesburg, the ground which will host the second T20I as well on the 12th. Centurion will host the last two T20Is on April 14 and 16.

South Africa T20I squad: Heinrich Klaasen (captain), Bjorn Fortuin, Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Wiaan Mulder, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne, Pite van Biljon, Daryn Dupavillon, Migael Pretorius, Lizaad Williams, Wihan Lubbe.

Related Articles

Crisis in South Africa cricket comes to solution

‘Very sad day for cricket’: SA crisis deepens

SA captains fear suspension from T20 World Cup

Minister of Sports Nathi Mthethwa threatens to ban CSA

I know, I will be the best president in the history of BCB: Shakib