BBL teams can sign six overseas players in 2019-20 season

Big Bash League (BBL) teams will be allowed to sign six overseas players for the upcoming season with only two overseas players to be allowed in the starting XI.

BBL 2019
Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed on Saturday that the Big Bash teams can sign six overseas players for the 2019-20 season. However, out of the six, only two players will be allowed in the playing XI.

In the 18-man roster, only four overseas players were allowed but the clubs can now offer contracts to six players, two more from the previous campaigns.

Also Read - Harbhajan 3rd Indian to bag 150 IPL wickets

The board also informed that any of these four players can be named as replacements throughout the course of the season. However, a club’s replacement request will be at the discretion of the BBL Technical Committee. The new rule will allow top players to sign up for short stints during a busy international calendar.

Anthony Everard, Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager Fan Engagement said

“We’ve considered feedback from our fans and worked with relevant stakeholders of the game to implement changes that will continue to improve the competition in 2019/20.”

“The ACA, BBL clubs and our broadcast partners have been an integral part of that, leading to the introduction of each club being allowed to contract up to six overseas players in BBL|09. The maximum number of overseas players permitted in a club’s squad will remain at two, but there is now increased flexibility to contract up to six players throughout the season and rotate them in and out as required,” he added.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Bangladesh’s tournament all but over with 86-run thrashing by Australia

McGrath warns India ahead of Australia day-night Test

Warner wins big on return to scene of scandal

Temba Bavuma ruled out of third T20I against Australia

Hussey wants Stoinis in all three formats