BCB announces squad for U-19 camp

Five months have passed since Bangladesh became the Under-19 World Cup champions. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has yet to embark on a mission to find their successor due to coronavirus.

BCB announces squad for U-19 camp

But the next tournament of the Youth World Cup will be at the beginning of 2022. In this situation, BCB has arranged a primary camp at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishtan (BKSP). BCB has announced a 45-member squad for the camp in a press release yesterday (Monday).

Also Read - BCCI gets government's green signal to stage IPL 2020 in UAE

The four-week camp at BKSP will start from August 23. Before that, young cricketers will be called for a health check-up at the Home of Cricket at Mirpur for five days from August 15 to 19. The plan is to take those to the BKSP on August 20 who have passed the coronavirus test. The conditioning camp will start in two days. Fitness and skill training will be four weeks. Starting from 23rd August which will continue till 18th September.

Dividing the whole country into four zones, BCB organizes the National Game Development Youth Cricket League. The selectors select the future cricketers from that league. But this time BCB could not select the team as the league was not over due to coronavirus. The announced team members will play eight matches in the middle of the four-week camp at BKSP. Based on the performance there, the selectors will reduce the squad of 45 people to 25-30 people.

BCB’s National Game Development has divided the 45-member team into three groups. Two members of this team were last year’s World Cup team, Prantik Nawrose Nabil and Mehrab Hossain. Although none of them played a match. Although Prantik was a member of the team from the very beginning, Mehrab later joined the team due to Mirttunjoy Chowdhury’s injury.

Group of 45:

Group (1): Mushfiqur Hasan, Arif Ahmed Anik, Fahim Habib Morshed, Habibur Rahman, Sanjidur Rahman, Bayezid Mia, Shahriar Alam Mahin, Mustakim Mia, Ashiqur Rahman Ashiq, Mohiuddin Tareq, Ahsan Habib Leon, Naimur Rahman Nayan, Ashraful Islam Siam, Ashraful Hasan Rohan and Hasib Hawladar.

Group (2): Anik Chakhi, Anik Sarkar Setu, Emon Ali, Mofizul Islam Robin, Hridoy Dev, Fardin Khan, Iftekhan Hossain Ifti, Habibur Rahman Munna, Prantik Nawrose Nabil, Golam Kibria, Mahfuzur Rahman Rabbi, Zillur Rahman, Abu Bakkar Ahmed, Zakaria Islam Shanto and Arafat Islam.

Group (3): Shakib Shahriar, Sohag Ali, Mehrab Hossain Anim, Abdullah Al Mamun, Khaled Hasan, Aich Mollah, Sagar Ahmed, Rihad Khan, Siam Al Shakib, Shahriar Shakib, Shaon Kazi Sumon, Mizbah Ahmed, Maksudur Rahman, Limon Hossain and Moinul Hasan.

Related Articles

Which team will be Mashrafe’s final destination in T20 Cup?

Timings of Friday matches altered slightly in T20 cup

Saifuddin returns to practice following ankle injury

BCB umpire tests positive for Covid-19 before T20 Cup match

BCB physio urges football practice caution after Saifuddin’s injury