BCL gets underway today

The seventh season of the country’s only franchise-based first-class cricket tournament Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) is rolling onto the ground from today (November 21).

BCL gets underway today
The 7th edition of the Bangladesh Cricket League will go back to the double-league format.

In a first roundn match, defending champions Prime Bank South Zone will square off against Walton Central Zone. The match will take place at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

In another first round fixture, Islami Bank East Zone and BCB North Zone will battle it out at the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi.

After the last three editions being played in the single-league system, this season marks the comeback of the tournament to the double-league format, which provides the teams mopre opportunity to remain in contention with the title.

Also Read - Ponting, Waugh could become new batting coach of Australia: Warne

The players’ draft was held on November 17, where each team formed their squads with 20 cricketers.

Liton Das was the highest run-getter in the previous edition which saw as many as four double hundreds. In six matches, Liton was able to put up 779 runs on the board.

Amonth the bowlers, left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak was on top of the leading, having taken 43 wickets. But unfortunately, 18 scalps by Abu Jayed was the most by a pacer, as the pitches had simply nothing for the seamers.

It is to be noted that the squads for this tournament were formed through a draft at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur in order to bring balance to the teams and make the four-day tournament more competitive. The tournament committee allowed each respective zone to retain six players while the rest were picked up through the draft.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Ashraful picks his all-time Bangladesh ODI XI

Rafique retired thinking about future of Shakib, Razzak

Pietersen used to scare Bangladesh’s left-arm spin

Tamim feels Mahmudullah ‘deserves’ a chance in IPL

Anamul, Tushar, Razzak fail BCL beep test