Ben Stokes named ICC Player of the Year

English all-rounder Ben Stokes has been named as the ICC 2019 player of the year for his incredible show in the World Cup and the Ashes.

Ben stokes for bbc award
Ben Stokes has won the Sir Garfield Sobers award for the ‘Cricketer of the year’ for his unforgettable 2019, where he helped English win their first-ever 50-over World Cup at home.

The all-rounder played a breathtaking knock against New Zealand in the final of the World Cup and led his side to the super over, where the hosts eventually won the game due to boundary rule after the super-over was tied as well.

Also Read - It's the best ever birthday gift for my father, 16-year old Richa Ghosh

Meanwhile, Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins was named the ‘Test cricketer of the year’ for picking up 59 wickets in 23 innings, with a gulf of 14 wickets between him and the runner-up on the Test wickets chart, Nathan Lyon (45 wickets in 23 innings).

Indian opener Rohit Sharma was named ODI Player of the Year for scoring 7 hundreds in 2019  including an unprecedented five in the 2019 World Cup. The aggressive Indian opener redefined consistency in his pet format in 2019, scoring 648 runs in the World Cup

On the other hand, Australia batsman Marcus Labuschagne won the ‘Emerging cricketer of the year’ for his consistent performance right throughout the year after he replaced Steven Smith as a concussion substitute and warranted a spot of his own in the Australian Test batting line-up. He scored 022 runs at an average of 68.13.

India’s new face in the bowling side Deepak Chahar won the T20I Performance of the Year for his incredible bowling figures of 6/7 against Bangladesh in last November.

ICC 2019 Awards:

  • Player of the Year: Ben Stokes (ENG)

  • Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (AUS)

  • ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (IND)

  • Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne (AUS)

  • Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli (IND)

  • T20I Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar’s 6 for 7 against Bangladesh (IND)

  • Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

  • Associate Player of the Year: Kyle Coetzer (SCO)


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Curran in self-isolation, awaiting coronavirus test results

AB De Villiers picks his all time best IPL XI

Williamson reveals why he sent Guptill and Neesham in the super over

Shakib picks four players for his super over

Four Indians in Compton’s current best Test XI