Bijoy, Mithun, Raju earn national team call-up

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced 16-member Bangladesh squad for the first two-match of the tri-nation series, which is going to start from 15 January in Dhaka, involving three-participating teams- hosts Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ফিরলেন বিজয়-মিঠুন, বাদ সৌম্য-তাসকিন]

Franchises can take 3 cricketers from national pool

Mashrafe Mortaza will lead the side while Shakib Al Hasan is named as his deputy. In the meantime, Anamul Haque Bijoy has been added in the squad while Mohammad Mithun and Abul Hasan Raju have also earned call-up in the squad one more time.

Also Read - Lyon captivates England on day four, ends with 210 run trail

On the other hand, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das and Taskin Ahmed have been dropped from the squad. To be noted, Anamul Haque did not feature in ODIs since 5 March, 2015. He has won the heart of selectors one more time with his recent performances.

So, the Tigers’ squad of tri-nation series, is consisting of 5 pacers, 4 spinners and 9 batsmen. Mashrafe will lead the pace attack. He will be supported by 5 young speedsters-Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abul Hasan Raju and Mohammad Saifuddin.

At the same time the spin department will be led by Shakib Al Hasan. Sunzamul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasir Hossain will be doing supporting role. Despite having three wicket-keepers, Mushfiqur Rahim will take the gloves and will do the wicket keeping duty behind the stumps.

It is mentioned that, Bangladesh will start their tri-nation mission from 15 January. They will face Zimbabwe on the opening day of tri-series. All of the matches will be day-night affairs. Matches are scheduled to start at 12.00 pm at noon. The tri-series will come to end with the final match on 27th of January which will take place at thr Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in above mentioned time.

Bangladesh squad for tri-series:  Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Anamul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Abul Hasan Raju and Sunzamul Islam.

Have a look at the tri-nation series itinerary-

Day                                                   Match                               Venue

Monday, January 15, 2018            Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe       SNBCS, Dhaka

Wednesday, January 17, 2018      Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe           SNBCS, Dhaka

Friday, January 19, 2018              Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka         SNBCS, Dhaka

Sunday, January 21, 2018            Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe           SNBCS, Dhaka

Tuesday, January 23, 2018           Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe        SNBCS, Dhaka

Thursday, January 25, 2018          Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka         SNBCS, Dhaka

Saturday, January 27, 2018             Final Match                       SNBCS, Dhaka



Related Articles

BCB hopeful of Shakib playing in Asia Cup

County doors to open for Tigers?

Tamim excited to work with McKenzie

Mominul perfect replacement for Shakib?

On This Day: Tamim records 154, Bangladesh chase 313