Black Caps announce squad for India ODIs

New Zealand have announced their 14-member squad for the upcoming three match ODI series against India. However, injuries have forced the Black Caps to name a new look pace attack.NZ announce squad

While opening bowler Kyle Jamieson from Auckland Aces has been called up in the ODI squad for the first time and could make his debut, Northern Districts quick Scott Kuggeleijn and Hamish Bennett from the Wellington Firebirds also return. They played their last ODIs in Ireland in 2017.

Owing to injury, star pocers in the form of Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry are unavailable for the series. The trio have broken left-hand, right-calf strain and broken left-thumb respectively.

Also Read - Former Pakistan pacer passes away

But the good news is, Tom Latham has recovered from his broken left finger and has been included in the squad.

Ish Sodhi has been called up only for the first ODI. He will then be released to play for New Zealand A in the second first class match against India A in Christchurch, starting February 7.

The first ODI will be held Seddon Park on Wednesday (February 5). This series will mark New Zealand’s return to the 50-over format since the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand are currently engaged in a five-match T20I series against the travelling India side. They have already conceded the series after losing three straight matches.

Black Caps ODI squad: Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wk), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Aakash Chopra names 3 nations that can host IPL 2020

Sangakkara to appear before the investigators tomorrow

Jadeja rated as most valuable Indian Test player in 21st century

Harbhajan slams China for threatening another virus pandemic

Kohli trolls Rahul on Instagram