Boult, Neesham, Taylor and Williamson star in Kiwis demolition over India

New Zealand win their first warm-up match with ease by 6 wickets against the favorite India after a superb bowling performance from the pacer Trent Boult and the all-rounder James Neesham at London on Saturday, May 25.

India v New Zealand – ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Warm Up
Kane Williamson of New Zealand in action during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Warm Up match between India and New Zealand at The Kia Oval on May 25, 2019

Not only in the bowling, New Zealand were also solid in batting as captain Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor both picked up a half-century to win the match with almost 13 overs in hand.

Winning the toss, India chose to bat but the collapse started from the beginning of their innings. They lost their wicket continuously and at one stage they were at 115-8. But then all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja fought alone and picked up a half-century, also managed to make the total score of 179. India were bowled out at just 39.2 overs.

Also Read - Business as usual formidable South Africa

Jadeja scored 54 runs off 50 balls and Hardik Pandya scored 30 off 37 balls. Captain Virat Kohli scored 18 off 24 balls. Boult took 4 wickets for New Zealand while Neesham took 3 wickets to restrict India under 200.

Chasing the small target of 180 runs, the Kiwis lost their first 2 wickets inside the first powerplay and it seemed like the match would be much interesting. But then the inform duo of New Zealand for some times- Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor made a partnership of 114 runs and helped the team to grab an easy win over India by 6 wickets.

Williamson scored 67 runs off 87 balls and Ross Taylor scored 71 runs off 75 balls. Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadeja all took 1 wicket each for India.

India rested Kedar Jadhav and Vijay Shankar who both had been struggling with injury recently while New Zealand rested Tom Latham and Matt Henry for the match.

India will play their next warm-up match against Bangladesh on May 28 and New Zealand will play their next warm-up match against West Indies on the same day.

India XIII: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Dinesh Karthik (wk), KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja

New Zealand XIII: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (vc), Ross Taylor

Brief Scorecard:

India 179-10 (39.2 overs)

Ravindra Jadeja 54 (50), Hardik Pandya 30 (37)

Trent Boult 4/33, James Neesham 3/26

New Zealand 180-4 (37.1 overs)

Ross Taylor 71 (75), Kane Williamson 67 (87)

Jasprit Bumrah 1/2, Hardik Pandya 1/26

Toss: India won the toss, elected to bat first

Result: New Zealand won by 6 wickets

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Hardik Pandya’s latest picture with Natasa goes viral

Hardik Pandya set to return to cricket action

Injury and fitness headaches for India

Zaheer Khan has a special advice for Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya ruled out of New Zealand Tests